Canva home
Help

Understanding removal from teams in Canva


If you've been notified that you'll be removed from a team, this article explains why and how to keep your content.

This article is for Canva users whose accounts are managed by their organisation. If you're an admin looking to enable this feature, check out Enable removal from external teams in Canva article.

Why am I being removed from teams?

When you’re added to a managed team within your organisation, you may be removed from external teams you joined outside the organisation. This ensures better collaboration, shared resources, and company-wide security.

You'll have up to 30 days' notice before being removed. We’ll notify you via email, or you can check the team switcher in your account to see which teams you’re being removed from.

Check which teams you're being removed from

  1. From the homepage, select your Profile icon.
  2. Under Teams, switch between your organisation-managed teams and external teams.
  3. Teams you’ll be removed from are marked with a Needs action label.

If you don’t want to copy content from those teams, no action is needed. You’ll be removed after 30 days.

Can I still access content in these external teams?

You have up to 30 days to access content from these teams. If you need to continue working on your content, copy it to your organisation-managed team.

How to copy your previous content to your organisation-managed team

Bulk copy all content

If your organisation admin has enabled this feature, you’ll be prompted to copy your content when switching into a team you’re being removed from.

You can choose:

  • Copy all content to a managed team immediately
  • Maybe later if you need more time

If you select Maybe later, you can still bulk copy your content during the notice period:

  1. Switch into the team you’re being removed from.
  2. Look for the Keep designing card in the team menu.
  3. Select Get started to begin copying.

We’ll send email and in-app notifications to keep you updated on the status of your copied content, which will be stored in your

Projects folder.

Copy selected content

If you only want to copy specific files rather than all content, follow the steps in Copy designs or files to another team or account.

What types of content can be copied?

You can copy:

  • Designs
  • Folders
  • Brand templates (copied as designs)
  • Websites (copied as designs)
  • Media
  • Videos

You can’t currently copy:

  • Apps
  • Published websites
  • Fonts
  • Audio
  • Orders and invoices
  • Comments
  • Who it's shared with (You’ll need to re-share files manually)
  • Brand kits
  • Brand templates

Can’t copy content?

Check with your organisation admin to see if they’ve allowed incoming content transfers for team members.

If they have, and you still can’t copy content, outgoing content transfers may not be enabled for the team you’re being removed from. Check with the admin or owner of that team.

Why can I only download content?

In some cases, you may only be able to download designs from a team you’re being removed from. This happens when permissions don’t allow content copy. You can reach out to the team admin to resolve this.

What if I own a team created with my organisation’s email domain?

Your organisation may also archive teams you own. Learn more in Understanding archived teams in Canva.

I own an external team and have a paid Canva subscription. Will I get a refund if members are removed from my team?

If you’ve already been charged for these members in the current billing period, you can replace these members at any time during this period. If you don't replace these members, you won't be billed in the next billing period for members who were removed.

Was this helpful?

Helpful

Unhelpful

People also viewed