Affiliated and managed accounts: What you need to know
If you signed up for Canva using your organisation's email, you may receive a notification that your organisation has claimed its domain.
What you need to do
You’ll have 30 days from the time you receive the notification to take action. If you don’t take action, your account will automatically become affiliated with your organisation.
Before the 30 days are up, choose the option that describes how you use this Canva account:
If you use this account for work:
- No action is needed.
If you use this account for personal (non-work) use:
- Follow the How do I switch to a personal account? steps below to keep the account separate from your organisation.
If you own teams that aren’t for work:
- Transfer team ownership to a personal account or to someone outside your organisation.
- You can continue to own work-related teams. However, depending on your organisation’s settings, some teams may be archived. Learn more in Understanding archived teams in Canva.
Your company may decide to manage your account before 30 days are up. If this happens, you’ll be logged out and will need to log back in before this date to switch.
What changes after your account is affiliated?
If your account is not yet SSO-managed, you can still make changes to your account details (such as your email and name).
Once your account becomes SSO-managed, your organisation can manage how you use Canva. Depending on your organisation’s setup, an admin from your organisation can:
- Add your account to a team they manage
- Change the email linked to your account
- Update your account name
- Delete your account without admin approval
- Archive teams you own
- Remove you from teams you joined outside the organisation
Note: Your organisation won’t have access to your existing content unless it was created in, or shared with, an organisation-managed team.
How do I switch to a personal account?
To keep your Canva account separate from your organisation, follow these steps:
- From the homepage, go to your Profile icon.
- Select Your account.
- In the Your profile tab, select Edit next to your organisation email address.
- Enter your account password, then confirm it.
- Use an email that isn’t already linked to a Canva account.
- Select Save.
Your content will stay in your personal account.
What if I miss the 30-day window or accidentally agree that my account is for work purposes?
If you don’t switch to a personal email address in time or mistakenly confirm your account as work-related, contact Canva Support for help.
If your account is already managed by your organisation, you may need to contact your organisation’s admin. They can request Canva’s Support team to remove your account from the organisation’s affiliation.
Was this helpful?
Helpful
Unhelpful